top of page


With expertise as a core value, it's important to our team at HKS Financial Partners to continue
to grow and enhance our knowledge so we can best serve each of our clients' unique situations. In order to provide the highest level of service and advice, our team members have earned specialized designations to fit every client's need.

Below is an explanation of each designation held by one of our advisors.


Designation held by: Brandon J. Shaw &
Gregory S. Lippert

The Certified Family Business Specialist (CFBS) designation is offered by The American College and is offered exclusively to agents of Massachusetts Mutual Life Insurance Company. Candidates must have two years’ experience in the financial services industry. Candidates must complete the following three classes: Financial Statements & Business Valuation Analysis, Business Succession Planning I and Business Succession Planning II.

AEP Symbol BLUE.jpg

Designation held by: Brandon J. Shaw

The Accredited Estate Planner® (AEP®) designation is conferred by the National Association of Estate Planners & Councils. Candidates must be (1) an Attorney (JD), a Certified Public Accountant (CPA), a Chartered Life Underwriter® (CLU®), a Chartered Financial Consultant® (ChFC®), a Certified Financial Planner (CFP®), or Certified Trust & Financial Advisor (CTFA), (2) in good standing with their professional organization and not be subject to disciplinary investigation; and (3) must have a minimum of 5 year’s experience in estate planning in one or more of the prerequisite professions. To satisfy the education requirements, candidates must pass final exams for 2 graduate level courses or have 15 or more years of experience as an estate planner. Re-certification is required annually.

CFP Logo recolored.jpg

Designation held by: Brandon J. Shaw,
Gregory S. Lippert & Jeff Neavor

The Certified Financial Planner™ (CFP®) designation is conferred by the Certified Financial Planner Board of Standards, Inc. Candidates must have a bachelor's degree (or higher) from an accredited college or university and either complete additional coursework addressing all major financial planning topics, or hold one of the following academic degrees, licenses or credentials: CPA, ChFC®, CLU®, CFA®, PhD in business or economics, Doctor of Business Administration, or an attorney's license. Candidates also must have at least three years of full-time personal financial planning experience and successfully complete the CFP® Certification Examination. CFP® professionals are subject to the CFP Board's ethical standards.


Designation held by: Paul H. Herzog & Jeff Neavor

The Chartered Financial Consultant (ChFC®) designation is offered by The American College. A candidate must successfully complete all courses in the program, meet experience requirements and ethics standards, and agree to comply with The American College Code of Ethics and Procedures. Three years of full-time business experience is required and must be within the five years preceding the date of the award. Current applicants are required to successfully pass nine courses, seven required courses and two electives.

cpwa blue.jpg

Designation held by: Brandon J. Shaw

The Certified Private Wealth Advisor® certification is offered by the Investments & Wealth Institute. The CPWA program begins with an approximately six-month pre-study program and concludes with a five-day class and must pass the CPWA exam. All of Investments & Wealth Institute certifications require ongoing education, and certificants must complete and report a minimum of 40 hours of continuing education (CE) credit (including two ethics hours) every two years to maintain the certification.

bottom of page